Free Four: Tobias Tells the Story – Veronica Roth

Free FourReading level: 5.2
Series: Divergent series book 1.5
Genre: Dystopian, romance
ELL-Friendly: Yes
Library recommendation: Middle or high school

Here’s the internal monologue of what happened when this book became available for download from the library (I was on a long waiting list): YES! But first I will work out and take a shower and eat breakfast. …but let’s download it just to be sure it works. …and let’s turn on the Kindle to make sure it downloaded. Eh, let’s just read the first few pages. Oh, it’s so short, let’s just keep going. Okay, done.

In this short story, Four/Tobias narrates the knife-throwing scene, and it reveals a softer side to his character as well as his personal problems with Dauntless. I learned that Tobias has perhaps a softer heart than I once thought (“My thoughts skip back to the night before, how touching her sent warmth into my hand and through the rest of me, though I was frozen with fear.”) and that he already has reservations about supporting his new faction. I loved reading his thoughts because we don’t get any of that in the series that’s narrated by Tris.

I wouldn’t go out of your way to buy it for the classroom because it’s nothing spectacular (although I did really enjoy it), and the series can do without this addendum. Fans of the Divergent series will probably read it, though, if it’s around.

Leave a Reply

