Rubrics and Standards-Based Grading

For assignments that are graded based on standards and a rubric, the rubric may have 5 sections:

  • 5 = above standard
  • 4.4 = standard is met
  • 3.7 = reaching towards standard
  • 3 = standard not met
  • 2.5 = standard not attempted

The reasons for the numbers is to translate from standards-based grading to percentages/letter grading:

  • 5/5 = 100% = A
  • 4.4/5 = 88% = B
  • 3.7/5 = 74% = C
  • 3/5 = 60% = D
  • 2.5 = 50% = F

Missing = 0 until the student turns in the assignment. If the student doesn’t turn the work in, it gets a 2.5 The reason for giving the student 50% is so that the grade is still failing, and the student cannot continue not turning in work if he or she wishes to pass. However, giving points means that just a few missing assignments won’t destroy a student’s grade and give him or her no chance at raising it enough to pass.

Incomplete = whatever grade the student earns based on the rubric. Then, give the assignment back with a chance to increase the grade. If it’s not turned back in, the grade will stay as is.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: