Allegiant – Veronica Roth

AllegiantReading level: 9 (ish)
Lexile: 700 (ish)
Series: The Divergent series book 3
Genre: dystopian
ELL-Friendly: Yes
Library recommendation: Middle or high school

Goodreads summary:

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

I feel like I should get a t-shirt that says, “I survived the Divergent series.” What a ride it has been. I actually liked this book the least because I was so upset with both Tris and Tobias; they were so mean to each other. More on that later. It was also just horribly depressing. I hoped maybe all the death would have ended with Insurgent, but it just got worse. So much worse.

I wrote “ish” next to the grade level and lexile because those numbers aren’t available on Scholastic since the book is still relatively new and has not been leveled. I determined the rough numbers by taking a look at the two books that came before Allegiant.

I did NOT see the plot twists coming. In a way, it was kind of a d’oh moment, like in first two Maze Runner books, but it was cleverly disguised until Roth was ready to reveal it. I’m still reeling from the awesomeness of how the plot unfolded throughout the series. When I have the courage, I’ll re-read it all and look for hints.

I felt my dislike for Tris coming on during Insurgent, and I really did try to like her more in Allegiant, but she was so mean and rude. Always. Without having to be. It got to the point where I didn’t even enjoy her character. Tobias got on my nerves a bit too. But with him, and through reading his narration, we saw how conflicted he was, how he hated parts of him that loved killing and hurting, and how weak he really was. At least I felt sorry for him. He tried harder (in my opinion) to keep his relationship with Tris alive where Tris burned bridges everywhere she went. Their fighting was so disheartening. I have to say, though, that my emotions were expertly played with, and I was rooting for both of them by the end.

You know who I really liked? Christina. I loved the way she recovered from her losses, forgave those who hurt her most, and took care of Tobias. If I were to take any cues about how to live my life, I would take them from her.

You know who else I was also kind of rooting for and feel guilty for admitting it? Peter. He was really coming around. His actions in Divergent can never be excused, but there was definite hope for him throughout Allegiant. I legitimately felt sorry for the guy at the end.

I was pleased to find three gay characters in this series: Lynn (revealed in Insurgent as her last breath), and Amar and George. It wasn’t a large part of the story, and it was just…normal. Way to spread acceptance, Ms. Roth.

Okay, so the ending. Don’t worry, I won’t spoil it if you haven’t read it. That said, one of my students told me what happens at the end, so I mentally prepared myself about a week in advance before I actually reached it. I didn’t cry my eyes out like I did with The Fault in Our Stars or The Book Thief, probably because I was as ready as I could have been. The character’s death was also so valiant that it was just…worth it. That last action redeemed this character to me, just in the nick of time. I don’t think it could have ended any other way.

It’s ELL-friendly although the reading level is fairly high. A possible issue I see parents being upset about is the one scene where Tris and Tobias sleep with their clothes off, but it’s nothing explicit. And that’s exactly what they do: sleep. Literally.

Honestly, I’m glad the series was done. It was a rough ride, but only because I was so invested in these great pieces of literature that contained so much loss and destruction. I feel like I’ve lost some friends along the way but that some of them, the ones who survived, are out there still, advocating for a humane world.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. EliMarie
    Dec 25, 2013 @ 06:03:07

    Honestly I loved Tris in Divergent but like you said in Insurgent her character became a bit annoying to me…I don’t know maybe its just me. I have Allegiant but I’ve been skeptical about reading it, I think someone spoiled the ending for me but I hope she was lying. Great review, by the way!

    Reply

    • anxiouseducator
      Dec 25, 2013 @ 06:29:57

      Thanks! I definitely agree with you. I did like Tris at the beginning of the series, and I wonder if the author made her less likeable on purpose. I think Allegiant is worth reading if just for the plot. Reading Tobias’ chapters was also interesting, especially since I began to like him more than Tris. Just brace yourself for the sadness…

      Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Jan 11, 2014 @ 13:15:03

    “I did NOT see the plot twists coming. In a way, it was kind of a d’oh moment, like in first two Maze Runner books, but it was cleverly disguised until Roth was ready to reveal it. I’m still reeling from the awesomeness of how the plot unfolded throughout the series. When I have the courage, I’ll re-read it all and look for hints.”

    Uh, you’re not going to find any hints because there are none. The plot did not unfold throughout the series. Veronica Roth did not even think of the back story until she wrote Allegiant. She was making the books up as she went along. The big revelation about the outside world was something she pulled out of thin air. She did not get a chance to set it up over the other two books because she didn’t think of it yet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

