The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan

the last olympianReading level: 4
Lexile: 620
Series: Percy Jackson & The Olympians book 5
Genre: Adventure, myth
ELL-Friendly: Mostly
Library recommendation: Middle school

Goodreads summary:

All year the half-bloods have been preparing for battle against the Titans, knowing the odds of a victory are grim. Kronos’s army is stronger than ever, and with every god and half-blood he recruits, the evil Titan’s power only grows.

While the Olympians struggle to contain the rampaging monster Typhon, Kronos begins his advance on New York City, where Mount Olympus stands virtually unguarded. Now it’s up to Percy Jackson and an army of young demigods to stop the Lord of Time.

Aw man, it’s over. 😦 Well, kind of over.

Some spoilers below:

This series has been so. much. fun. I thought The Last Olympian was the best of the series. I definitely laughed out loud more than I did with the others, which is really saying something. My favorite part may have been “peanut butterrrrr!”

It was intense throughout and sweet at the end (but not soppy). Luke’s redemption was…interesting. While he died a hero, I wonder if his last moments excused his previous actions. I’d say not. However, I did appreciate how he becomes “good” in the end. Called it!

When I have finished the few hundred books already on my to-read shelf, I will dive into the Heroes of Olympus series, which I hear is great as well. The Percy Jackson series is one that is meant to continue, whereas some series (such as Harry Potter) needed to end when they did, so I’m glad there’s more to read.

If there are too many holds on these books at your library, try the audiobooks. Jesse Bernstein is a fantastic narrator.

I bought the first and last book at a book sale a few years ago, so The Last Olympian is my third book of the 2014 TBR Pile Reading Challenge hosted by Bookish.

Leave a Reply

