You Are a Musician

I had a minor epiphany while watching middle school orchestras perform: being a good student is a lot like being a good musician. I can’t figure out how to insert this as a picture, but here is a link to a World document that could be converted into a classroom poster. You are a Musician

I think that teaching various behaviors and expectations using this analogy could be really powerful even if not all kiddos are musicians. I, myself, am a musician and am quite passionate about it, so I think that passion could help interest students and also help them understand certain behaviors, like walking silently in the halls.

This post is the first in a series called Gettin’ Serious. Now that I’m applying for actual teaching jobs, I need to start getting serious about how I’ll really run my classroom.

Leave a Reply

