Rubrics and Standards-Based Grading

For assignments that are graded based on standards and a rubric, the rubric may have 5 sections:

  • 5 = above standard
  • 4.4 = standard is met
  • 3.7 = reaching towards standard
  • 3 = standard not met
  • 2.5 = standard not attempted

The reasons for the numbers is to translate from standards-based grading to percentages/letter grading:

  • 5/5 = 100% = A
  • 4.4/5 = 88% = B
  • 3.7/5 = 74% = C
  • 3/5 = 60% = D
  • 2.5 = 50% = F

Missing = 0 until the student turns in the assignment. If the student doesn’t turn the work in, it gets a 2.5 The reason for giving the student 50% is so that the grade is still failing, and the student cannot continue not turning in work if he or she wishes to pass. However, giving points means that just a few missing assignments won’t destroy a student’s grade and give him or her no chance at raising it enough to pass.

Incomplete = whatever grade the student earns based on the rubric. Then, give the assignment back with a chance to increase the grade. If it’s not turned back in, the grade will stay as is.

Standards and Data

So this is my life now – thinking and blogging about standards and data.

Here’s an idea about making sure you reach most (all?) standards and have evidence thereof: make a list of all standards (in a spreadsheet?) and write the summative assessments for each. Make sure grading is standards-based and then use the grades to collect data about who and how many have met which standards.

National Council for…

Here are links to the websites of various councils of subjects I’ll be endorsed to teach:

National Council for Teachers of English

National Center for History in the Schools

National Council for the Social Studies

National Council on Economics Education

National Council for Geographic Education

One of these days I’ll do a comprehensive overview of nifty tools and resources on these websites. But today is not that day.